NSW Supreme Court Bicentenary

13th Floor News

The Ceremonial Sitting to mark the bicentenary of the Supreme Court of New South Wales was held on Friday, 17 May 2024 in the Banco Court.

Speakers included the Chief Justice of NSW, the Attorney General of NSW, the President of the NSW Bar Association, the President of the Law Society of NSW and an Acknowledgement of Country by NSW barrister, Andrew Smith.

Floor members Jane Needham SC, Jeremy Morris SC, Bede Kelleher SC, Simon Chapple SC, Renee Bianchi, and Daniel Yazdani attended the ceremony.

More information on the bicentenary, including transcripts of speeches given at the ceremonial sitting, may be found on the NSW Supreme Court’s website.  

Get in Touch